City and County PACE Program Administrator

City and County PACE Program Administrator

The Lone Star PACE City and County PACE Program Administrator enables energy efficiency, water conservation, and renewable energy upgrades to your local community. PACE projects not only reduce utility expenses while increasing the tax base and local employment, they also support Texas energy and water conservation goals.

A PACE assessment performs in action similar to other general assessments such as sidewalks or sewers. Property owners enter into a voluntary assessment and lien on the property for the duration of the PACE financing term. Only the individual property owners who utilize PACE for improvements are subject to the assessment.
Lone Star PACE Benefits for City and County:

  • No cost to local municipality implementing or sustaining a PACE program
  • Multiple pre-qualified PACE lenders for property owners to choose from
  • Increased property values for buildings with completed PACE projects
  • Encourage renewable energy and water conservation retrofits
  • Generate new projects employing local contractors
  • Mitigate cost of sourcing water and energy resources as community grows
  • Completely voluntary agreement entered by local government and business

What types of projects are eligible for PACE?

Texas PACE legislation authorizes PACE funding for the installation of Qualified Improvements. Qualified Improvements must:
  • Be permanently fixed to the real property;
  • Have a demonstrated capacity to decrease
    • Water consumption or demand; and/or
    • Energy consumption or demand (Includes renewables and distributed generation products or devices on the customer’s side of the meter that use energy technology to generate electricity, provide thermal energy, or regulate temperature); and
  • Have a useful life that exceeds the term of the PACE financing agreement.

What type of properties do not qualify for PACE?

Properties that are statutorily ineligible for PACE assessments include:

  • Facilities for undeveloped lots or lots undergoing development at the time of the assessment; and
  • Government owned real property.

What types of properties qualify for PACE?

The PACE Act permits PACE assessments to be placed on property that is:

  • Privately owned commercial real property – including not-for-profit real property such as private schools, medical facilities, churches, etc.;
  • Privately owned industrial real property; or
  • Privately owned residential real property with five or more dwelling units.

Any of these properties must also:

  • Be located within the jurisdiction of the PACE program;
  • Have a title that is not in dispute; and

Where there is a preexisting mortgage lien on the property: the mortgagee must be given written notice of the owner’s intention to participate in the PACE program at least 30 days before the owner enters into a contract with the PACE program; and, the mortgagee must provide written consent to participation in the PACE program.